← Back to home
Comparison · DevOps

Appsmith vs Apache Syncope

A side-by-side editorial comparison of Appsmith and Apache Syncope — release velocity, themes, recent moves, and the top alternatives to consider.

Appsmith vs Apache Syncope: at a glance

FeatureAppsmithApache Syncope
SectorDevOpsDevOps
Velocity score6.35.0
Sparks · 30d10
Top themeslow-code, app-builder, self-hosted, security-hardeningidentity-management, iam, provisioning, apache
Last editorial update6d ago1mo ago
WebsiteVisit →Visit →

What is Appsmith?

Appsmith is killing its own AI datasource and doubling down on security hardening — a strategic retreat from the AI feature race.

Appsmith crossed the 2.0 milestone in 2026, bundling MongoDB 7 and completing a multi-release security hardening arc. The most strategically notable move is the EOL of Appsmith AI: as of September 30, 2026, the built-in AI datasource stops working entirely. New connections were blocked starting in v2.3, and v2.4 is the final reminder before the cutoff. The v2.4.1 security release — Databricks JDBC URL validation, CVE patch, and WHERE-clause column name sanitization in UQI filtering — shows the product is used in real enterprise environments with sensitive data.

Read the full Appsmith trajectory →

What is Apache Syncope?

Syncope runs two IAM branches in lockstep, but ships announcements with no change detail.

Apache Syncope is maintaining two 4.x lines simultaneously — 4.0 'Notturno' and 4.1 'Capriccio' — and cuts them as pairs, with the two releases published within minutes of each other on the same day. 4.1.0 opened the newer line in April and has since reached 4.1.2, while 4.0 continues to 4.0.7. A 3.0.16 release in February shows the previous major is still being maintained as well. What each release actually contains is not stated: every announcement is the same boilerplate paragraph pointing at an external changelog.

Read the full Apache Syncope trajectory →

Appsmith vs Apache Syncope: editorial side-by-side

A
Appsmith
DEVOPS
6.3

Appsmith is killing its own AI datasource and doubling down on security hardening — a strategic retreat from the AI feature race.

◆ Current state

Appsmith crossed the 2.0 milestone in 2026, bundling MongoDB 7 and completing a multi-release security hardening arc. The most strategically notable move is the EOL of Appsmith AI: as of September 30, 2026, the built-in AI datasource stops working entirely. New connections were blocked starting in v2.3, and v2.4 is the final reminder before the cutoff. The v2.4.1 security release — Databricks JDBC URL validation, CVE patch, and WHERE-clause column name sanitization in UQI filtering — shows the product is used in real enterprise environments with sensitive data.

◆ Where it's heading

The AI datasource retraction, combined with the security hardening trajectory, suggests Appsmith is choosing depth over breadth: a more trustworthy, auditable low-code platform rather than a feature-competitive one. The Databricks JDBC integration and the UQI SQL injection fix signal that enterprise data sources are increasingly in scope. The v2.x series has consistently prioritized SSRF protection, access control enforcement, and CVE remediation.

◆ Prediction

Future releases will likely expand the data connector library (Databricks is now validated) and continue the security hardening pattern; the AI gap will be filled by first-party connector support for external AI services rather than a built-in model.

A5.0

Syncope runs two IAM branches in lockstep, but ships announcements with no change detail.

◆ Current state

Apache Syncope is maintaining two 4.x lines simultaneously — 4.0 'Notturno' and 4.1 'Capriccio' — and cuts them as pairs, with the two releases published within minutes of each other on the same day. 4.1.0 opened the newer line in April and has since reached 4.1.2, while 4.0 continues to 4.0.7. A 3.0.16 release in February shows the previous major is still being maintained as well. What each release actually contains is not stated: every announcement is the same boilerplate paragraph pointing at an external changelog.

◆ Where it's heading

The observable trajectory is entirely structural, because the release notes carry no content. Two 4.x branches advancing in step, released simultaneously and each carrying its own upgrade notes, is the signature of a project supporting enterprise deployments that cannot move majors on demand. The 4.1.0-M0 milestone in February preceding the 4.1.0 GA in April suggests a deliberate stabilisation process rather than a rolling release. Beyond that, any claim about direction would be invention — the substance lives behind the changelog links these announcements point to.

◆ Prediction

Expect the paired-release cadence to continue at roughly two-month intervals, with 4.0.x and 4.1.x cut together and 3.0.x receiving occasional maintenance. Nothing in these announcements supports a prediction about feature direction.

Alternatives to Appsmith and Apache Syncope

Other DevOps products tracked by Sparkpulse, ranked by recent ship velocity. Each card links to a full editorial trajectory and lets you pivot into a head-to-head comparison with either Appsmith or Apache Syncope.

See all Appsmith alternatives → · See all Apache Syncope alternatives →

Recent activity from Appsmith and Apache Syncope

Latest ship moves from both products, interleaved chronologically. ⚡ = editorial spark.

  1. 6d agoAppsmithv2.4.1: Databricks JDBC validation, CVE patch, UQI SQL injection fix
  2. 13d agoAppsmithv2.4: Appsmith AI datasource EOL September 30, 2026
  3. 1mo agoAppsmithv2.3: blocks new Appsmith AI connections — EOL September 30
  4. 2mo agoApache SyncopeApache Syncope 4.0.7
  5. 2mo agoApache SyncopeApache Syncope 4.1.2
  6. 2mo agoAppsmithv2.2: copy APIs/queries/JS objects across apps
  7. 3mo agoAppsmithv2.1: Pylon replaces Intercom, memory analysis tool, SSRF protection
  8. 4mo agoApache SyncopeApache Syncope 4.1.1
  9. 4mo agoApache SyncopeApache Syncope 4.0.6
  10. 4mo agoAppsmithv2.0: MongoDB 7 bundled, major version milestone
  11. 5mo agoApache SyncopeApache Syncope 4.0.5
  12. 5mo agoApache SyncopeApache Syncope 4.1.0

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between Appsmith and Apache Syncope?

They serve adjacent needs but don't currently overlap on shipped themes. Appsmith is currently shipping more aggressively (velocity 6.3 vs 5.0), with 1 editorial sparks in the last 30 days against 0. See the at-a-glance table above for a side-by-side breakdown of velocity, recent sparks, and editorial themes.

Is Appsmith better than Apache Syncope?

Sparkpulse doesn't pick a winner — we score release velocity, not feature parity. Appsmith is currently shipping more aggressively (velocity 6.3 vs 5.0), with 1 editorial sparks in the last 30 days against 0. For your specific use case, the alternatives sections above list other DevOps products to evaluate alongside.

What are the best alternatives to Appsmith?

Top Appsmith alternatives in DevOps are ranked by recent ship velocity. Browse the "Appsmith alternatives" section above for the current picks, or visit /alternatives/appsmith for the full list with editorial commentary on each.

What are the best alternatives to Apache Syncope?

Top Apache Syncope alternatives in DevOps are ranked by recent ship velocity. Browse the "Apache Syncope alternatives" section above for the current picks, or visit /alternatives/syncope for the full list with editorial commentary on each.